08.01.2002, 10:10 p.m.

ding dong the witch is gone (so are a couple of counselors)


Big excitement at camp while I was away on vacation. Two counselors got fired. The last day I was there (Thursday) the SOB-child threw another boy's shoe on the roof of the cafeteria, for whatever reason. The counselors who were with the group outside (which was about 5 out of 8 of them; the others had already left and I was watching a group inside) were doing drugs or something (not really, but I can't come up with any other explanation for it) and made him go on the roof to get the shoe. I was not aware of it until after it happened, since I was inside. When his mother came to pick him up, I had him tell her what happened because 1) We always tell parents about extra-bad things their kids did that day, and 2)because he knew what happened better than I did, and the reasons why he did it. (By the time his mother came all the counselors involved had gone home.) Of course, he told her that they had made him go up on the roof to get it, and of course her first reaction was to freak out and be more concerned about what we did wrong than what her child did wrong. Granted, I would be upset if someone made my child go on the roof of a building (if I had kids), but she took it to her usual level of insanity. Thank God I was not there when it happened, because she didn't get mad at me. However, while I was away, she did threaten to file a child-endangerment lawsuit against the city, so the two counselors most responsible got fired. I'm surprised there were any left with jobs, because as far as I could tell, 4 of the 5 counselors out there with him were involved. The other two were just lucky, I guess. I don't mind, though, because the fired ones had been not very good counselors to begin with. So, oh well. And the boy got transferred to another campsite. And there's a lightning storm going on right now. So who knows? Maybe God just works slow�

I had originally planned to go to work at 7:30 this morning to get extra hours to make up for some of the time I missed while I was away. I didn't get there until almost 9:00. Oh well. Although when I got there and heard about what happened in the morning, I was kind of glad I missed it. Apparently one of the kids had explosive diarrhea or something, because there was poop all over the bathroom. And this was one of our usually-normal kids. I was glad I didn't have to deal with it. That kind of stuff makes me almost not want to have children. I don't deal well with bodily functions/fluids like vomit and fecal matter.

On the bright side, I personally had a pretty decent day today. I didn't have to deal with too much crap at work. No pun intended. Although I couldn't have picked a more appropriate word.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com