05.05.2006, 5:49 p.m.

my new dilemma, etc.


And so I now face a new dilemma...

But I probably haven't written about my old dilemmas. Let me check... oh goodness, the last time I wrote it was a really old dilemma which is not even a dilemma anymore. However, if you are following the story of the "I had a job teaching special ed and really liked it but then they hired a new teacher because, and I quote, 'the principal wanted someone who would be able to be the teacher for next year'" saga. Okay, that was a huge run-on sentence that probably didn't even make sense. But I found out today that the new teacher they hired is leaving at the end of the year. So they hired her for no reason. They could have kept me in there for the remainder of the year and had a little more consistency, but no. I do, however, believe that everything happens for a reason, and now that I am moving (the OLD new dilemma, "old" now because there is a NEW new dilemma) it is probably better that I got not so attached to the kids I was teaching.

So on to the OLD new dilemma (are you totally confused yet?)... there was a dilemma for a while about what to do about the situation with my husband. He has been living three hours away, staying with his mother, building a family entertainment center and recently (now that they've opened) being promoted to the General Manager.. check them out at citystreets.biz. So being a teacher (yes, I am definitely going back to teaching next year) I have to think in terms of school years. Can't start a school year and then move halfway through (although some do, but I would not unless it was a desperate situation). Seeing where my husband works, and taking into consideration that he's now making $42,500 a year salaried (with only one semester of college classes that he took for an EMT certficate, so pretty much with only a high school diploma), I knew he would not want to leave his job and come home. And as we all know, teachers are needed everywhere, it's not like some cities don't have schools. So if Brian won't come home, home is going to have to go to him. So I'm packing up the house and the dogs and we're going back down to South Florida, where I grew up, where I spent three years convincing Brian to leave, to move up here to Orlando. I don't want to live down there, but I cannot pass up the opportunity that he has down there. We need the money, and he loves his job. And now that I've left Disney for the most part (only working seasonally now, meaning I only have to work two weeks each year), the only two things making me really want to stay up here are the house we own and my mother, who lives five blocks away. We can't sell the house... because of the bankruptcy, we can't possibly buy another one for at least seven years, so we're going to rent out our house and rent one for ourselves down there. As for my mother, well, she'll just have to come down to visit, and I'll come up to visit her too. Thank goodness for free long distance calls.

Onward and upward (man, I'm tired of typing)... my NEW new dilemma... I'm returning to teaching. I'm returning to the same town I used to teach in. Do I dare return to the school I used to work at? I don't like middle schoolers... I wrote this while I was teaching 8th grade (no comments about that entry please, I got enough nasty ones when I wrote it), but I also wrote this one at the end of the year. The good things about going back to the same school? The current principal was an assistant principal when I worked there, and he gave me a good review, and I really don't think it would take much effort to get rehired there. And I know the school, and I know I would have a lot of support from the other teachers (I sure did last time). The only bad thing? My last experience with the kids there. But it would be different kids this time. And I have heard that the school is doing much better than it was back then (three years ago). Not so much of an "inner-city school not in an inner-city." And I actually think I've been away from it long enough that I could do it again for another year. I would not go as far as to say I could do it permanently. But if I stay down in that area after the year is over, I could always put in for a transfer to another school. It may be worth it to not have to go through all the hassle of handing in resumes, going through interviews, starting at a new school where I don't know any other teachers.... It's something to think about. So what do I do?

So that's my new dilemma. And my old new dilemma. And my old dilemma. And even my OLD OLD OLD dilemma from three years ago. And my fingers are worn out. Do you think they'll ever consider typing as exercise? Man, if I could lose weight from writing diary entries, I would have just lost a good five pounds.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com