09.25.2002, 8:43 p.m.

drawing stick figures


I'm sorry for my lack of updating lately� I'm still really busy, and when I'm not busy I'm tired. So my assistant principal came in to observe and the kids were absolute angels. Seriously, they were better that day than my best class. So it looked really good to the a.p., but the minute he walked out they started talking and acting up again. So I've decided to get an inflatable administrator to set up in the back of my room. Yes, he never needs to speak; his god-like presence is enough to scare the kids into behaving themselves.

Yesterday I went to a workshop about the standardized writing test kids have to take in 8th grade. The dreaded FCAT Writing Test. They take the FCAT every year, but the writing part of it is only given in 4th, 8th, and 10th. Lucky me, I teach 8th grade, so it's my job to teach these kids how to write a well-organized, focused, supported essay. Yay. Because I love to write essays so much myself. In college, I would have done anything to not have to write an essay. And I'm not very good at it. So it's great that I'm the one teaching it to them. I'm good at writing research papers; I'm terrible at writing essays. I have a hard time being creative, and I'm not good at showing-not-telling. You know, that "painting a picture for the reader" crap. It's great if you can do that. I can't even tell a story about something I know a lot about, let alone paint a freaking picture.

I can't even draw stick figures.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com