01.26.2003, 10:03 a.m.

spoiling Satan, oops I meant Satin


My 17-year-old cat has not been eating for the past few days. The only thing she would eat is Pounce treats. I thought maybe she was sick (she seems to be sleeping more lately), I thought we'd be burying her in a few days, but now I realize she's just being her typically spoiled self. Let me explain.

We got Satin (not Satan, mind you, but sometimes I wonder) some Pounce for Christmas. Ever since then she has been bratty, bothering me and Brian to no end unless we got her more treats. I noticed then that she preferred treats over her own, expensive Hill's Prescription Diet (she's always had digestive problems). But she was eating. In the past week or so, no one has seen her eat anything (we ran out of Pounce), and her bowl of food has not gone down in level. She also was hiding, sleeping under my mother's bed days and nights, which is odd, since she always goes to bed with me at night.

So Brian and I got her more treats. We figure she has to eat something, or she'll die of starvation. She hasn't been sleeping under my mother's bed since then, in fact, she hardly leaves my room (that's partly because of the other two cats and two dogs, none of which she is fond of). But she still wouldn't eat her food, so we thought maybe it was too hard on her old teeth. We bought Tender Vittles, which is soft dry food, and she wouldn't eat that either. Finally, I didn't know what else to do, so I went back to the pet store yesterday and got a vitamin supplement (she needs nutrition) and some wet cat food. I wasn't sure about either one: I didn't think she'd eat the supplement, and I figured the wet food would make her sick (she throws up everything except her Prescription Diet).

What a brat. She ate the supplement like it was candy, and gobbles that wet food down like it's going out of style. She hasn't thrown up anything, but I think that's because we don't give her more than a couple forkfuls at a time. Okay, so I don't know if forkfuls is a word, but that's what we give her. I'm surprised she'll eat off a paper plate. Next she'll be demanding I serve it to her in one of those fancy dishes they have on those silly commercials. I hope I won't give in so easily to my children when have them. A spoiled cat is quite enough.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com