08.23.2002, 5:44 p.m.

can't I have one more day before the weekend?


Today was the first Friday in months that I wished all day that I could have at least one more day before the weekend. I'm almost done setting up my room. I'm almost prepared (planning-wise, not mentally) for the first day of school. I'll never be mentally ready. I don't think veteran teachers are ever mentally ready for the first day of school. Really, at this point, most of what I have left to do is organize. And make copies. And I have to make a syllabus. But I don't know what to put on it, because I don't really know what I'll be doing this year. Writing, mostly, because of the FCAT (Florida Comprehensive Achievement Test). It's the test they use the scores from to "grade" the schools. Then they give money to the schools that get "A"s. Which is terrible, because the schools that already have money will get better test scores because that's how it is. Inner-city schools don't get as good of test scores as schools in high-class (rich) neighborhoods. The kids have different backgrounds. Then the rich schools get even more money. But don't let me get started on that. If you live in Florida, vote during this next election. And vote for a Democrat. No matter who it is. Anyone is better than Jeb Bush.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com