08.22.2002, 6:37 a.m.

that teacher everyone warned you about�


Remember that teacher that everyone warned you about? You know, the one everyone hated (even the other teachers) and everyone prayed they wouldn't get in that teacher's class? Well, I had him for 8th grade American History. He was a horrible teacher who didn't care about anyone. I'll call him Mr. Rebel*, since he rebels against all good teaching practices. Anyway, we had to do a paper at the end of the year on who shot Kennedy. At the end of my paper, I wrote a poem (I was always creative and a little weird) and one of the lines was something like "It could be the mob, or friends of Marilyn Monroe, or Mr. Rebel, we really don't know." Well, he thought that was great. This man, who never gave anyone an A, not only gave me an A on the paper, but also gave me an A for the last grading period. He read my poem to the class, and years later, I heard from a friend's younger sister that he was still reading it to all of his classes, because he thought it was so great.

*Names have been changed to protect the guilty.

Remember how I said I'm teaching 8th grade Language Arts at the middle school I used to go to? Yes, Mr. Rebel is not only on my team (the kids are all on different teams according to their academic level and each level is a team that has the same teachers), but hel is in the classroom next door to me. Writing that poem paid off. He still remembers me. He actually brought me the poem (yes, he still has it!) on Tuesday. He actually treats me with� well, his idea of respect.

Always suck up to teachers. Always go the extra mile in anything you do. You never know when it will come back to you.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com