03.14.2003, 5:51 p.m.

moving to Orlando?


I think I got Brian to agree to move to Orlando. Funny thing is, it was when I said he could have a two-car garage. He really wants to build a hot rod, and wants to have a bunch of old cars around to use for parts. I explained to him that if we stayed here in South Florida, we couldn't afford to live in a house (we can only afford it now because we live with my mom, but she's moving to Orlando in June) and no house equals no garage. Well, okay we could live in a house down here if we want to live in a neighborhood in which we would be afraid to leave the house even in the daytime. But cost of living is much cheaper in Orlando (far away from the beach) than it is down here. We could do even better if we buy a house -- mortgage payments are usually cheaper than rent, especially now that interest rates are the lowest they've been in years. Rent for apartments around here is about $800 and up for a one-bedroom. My mother's "boyfriend" (I hate using that word for adults), his daughter and her husband rent a 3-bedroom house in a decent neighborhood for $700/month.

I'm excited about Brian saying we could move. I know he doesn't want to go� he's afraid of change. He doesn't even like to travel, let alone move. Me? I can't stand to stay in one place for too long. I travel because I can't move constantly. (And to get away from reality.) I'd be a drifter if I could afford it. Actually, my grandmother says we're gypsies. I just want to get out of South Florida. And in a few years, I'll probably want to go somewhere else. And somewhere else a few years after that. That's okay with me. I just have to convince Brian to go with me. Don't say it� I know we're not really matched right. I like theater, he likes cars. I like to travel, he likes to stay put. I want six kids, he wants one. But we get along really well, and as much as we don't have in common, we have that much to give each other. We agree on how to raise kids, political and religious beliefs, and we both want to be rich but can't save money to save our lives. And those (well, at least the first few) are the most important things. I can always travel and go to see Broadway shows with my mother. Besides, Brian always goes with me when I really want him to. He's so good to me. Trust me, I know how lucky I am.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com