05.01.2003, 6:56 p.m.

my back-alley ghetto kids


Okay, once again, I have to defend myself to someone who obviously has not read enough of my diary and does not know enough about my situation to make judgements about the way I teach. Yes, another person has made a comment in my guestbook in reference to something she knows nothing about, and (as always seems to be the case) without leaving a email or URL. First of all, maybe it is different where you are, or was different when you were in 8th grade (because it sure was different when I was in 8th grade the school I now teach at), but 8th graders are NOT brown-nosers who try hard. Not in my area, at least. Yes, if you read some of my older entries, you will see that I do teach at "retards are us" and it is a "disfuctional school for homeless backally kids in the ghetto" as Melissa puts it. No shit, they're not learning because they're not learning. And no, they are not motivated. But it's not because of me, it's because their parents don't give a shit about them or what they do in school. And considering most of the kids who are failing my class are also failing most of their other classes, I know there is not much hope. Still, I do what I can to try to teach them. Anyway, let me tell you a little about my kids, so you all can get a better idea of my so-called life.

First of all, I teach at an inner-city school that isn't in an inner city. But many of our kids are from the ghetto. I teach five classes, around 30 kids in each class. They are grouped by ability. I have one advanced class, one regular class, and three ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) classes, which are separated into groups not only by how well they speak English but also ability. Each group stays together all day, moving together from teacher to teacher, only getting to be in classes with different kids for their elective. This is called "teaming," which has its good points and bad points, one bad point being that if a child gets stuck in a class with a bunch of idiots, he or she is stuck with those same idiots all day, every day, all year long. The other teachers on my team (who teach all the same kids I do) say this is the most unmotivated and lazy group of kids they have ever taught (and they have lots of experience, as opposed to my 8 months). The sciece teacher has decided to quit teaching and become a nurse after this year. The reading teacher wants to get out of the classroom and become an administrator instead. The history teacher is considering retiring next year. The math teacher also teaches adult night school and wants to stop teaching during the day. I think I'm doing okay, considering I only want to move to high school instead of middle, and high school is what I wanted in the first place.

Anyway, about the kids. Around a third of them are fifteen, a few even sixteen (or close to it), which means that they obviously have already failed at least one year in the past. That should tell you something right there. Second, out of 130 kids, at least six of them were arrested during this school year. One of which was arrested and expelled for starting a fire in the school bathroom and prosecuted for pushing another kid down the stairs, and one kid who was arrested for throwing a rock at a school bus and hitting a kid in the face. I don't know the details of the others, and I would not be surprised if there are more that I just am not aware of. We know of at least one who was pregnant last year (in the 7th grade) and had an abortion. Of course, we have our share of drinkers and druggies � that's a hard one to put a number on, since many kids say they do to look cool but really don't. But I know for sure of at least two. And we have a surprisingly high number of kids with at least one dead parent (one whose father was murdered), and even more who live with grandparents, aunts, uncles, friends, etc. because their parents do not want them.

So yes, my kids are dysfunctional. You can call them back-alley ghetto kids because they are. No, they are not motivated. Yes, my days are difficult. No, these are not the ideal kids to teach, and as much as people (even me, at one point) think they can change these messed up kids and help them, it's too late for some of them. I still do what I can for them. Yes, I complain about them, but I still care about them. Maybe now you have a better idea of why they sometimes drive me crazy. Besides, I would not be so pompous as to think I am a great teacher, considering this is my first year of teaching. I've made, and still make, more mistakes than I'd like to admit to, and I know I have a lot to learn and a lot of room to grow. So please stop thinking you know more than I do about teaching if you have never taught, and unless you have helpful suggestions or words of encouragement, I don't need the comments.

I'm trying to cut back on the ranting, but you know how I am :o)

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com