04.28.2003, 4:19 p.m.

4th period blues


Today I saw a man walking his dog in a wheelchair. No, that's not right. I saw a man in a wheelchair walking his dog. It's not that abnormal, and I'm sure it happens all the time, but when I saw it, I realized that I don't think I've ever seen a person in a wheelchair walking a dog. Maybe it's that I don't see people riding around town in wheelchairs much, so it would be even more rare to see someone with a dog. It was an electronic wheelchair, and it made me wonder if people who have to manually work their chairs have a difficult time with it or if they just tie the leash to the arm of the chair or what they do. Just curious.

The kids were okay today, really talkative but no big problems. Right now, most of the behavioral problems I have are too much talking or people getting up without permission. My biggest problem? Too many kids failing because they get such low test scores and don't do and/or turn in assignments. The crazy thing is it's almost all in my fouth period class. I have about 6 kids passing as of right now, out of 28. I know it's not too much for them, because I give them the same work and same tests as all my other classes, and they're not even my lowest class. They are, however, my most immature class. They also have three big behavior problems (two of them being two of the worst-behaved kids we have on the whole team, which consists of 130 kids). Many of them are followers, which in their particular case is not a good thing, because they model their behavior after these two bad kids, and so the majority of the class acts up, playing around and not getting work done. And they never study. They basically don't understand that their actions will always have consequences. They have become a few teachers' least favorite group (mine is still my fifth period � "the monsters" � but I say that in the nicest way possible, because I still like most of the kids, just not the group as a whole). Anyway, they are the cause for my rant today because I'm so irked that so many of them are failing. Of course, most of them will bring their grades up before the year is over, but I wish they would care more about their grades before the week before each marking period ends. Like I said (okay, well I wasn't the first person to say it, but I have quoted it before), every action has its consequence, and they just don't understand that. I think it has a lot to do with their level of maturity. Many are still mentally back in 6th grade. I hope they don't get eaten alive when they get to high school next year. They'll have to grow up real quick. Then again, maybe it would be a good thing.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com