03.29.2003, 4:34 p.m.

hot house, hot heads


The air in the house just broke, so I'm sitting here about to break into a sweat (which I hate to do, by the way) thinking how glad I am to be going out to dinner with Brian's family tonight (sans Brian -- he has to work). Do you see irony? If you knew Brian's family you would. There's his mother, whose birthday it is today, hence the going to dinner part. Brian's mother is the typical image of a mother-in-law. Almost like Raymond's mother on the sitcom "Everybody Loves Raymond." Okay, no one's that bad, but imagine a woman who insults people to be funny, enjoys talking about normally-inappropriate things like her daughter getting a training bra and farts and things up people's butts and she likes to stick her finger in her nose and discusses just about any crass thing you can think of. And she seems to be trying to make me a good wife. While we were in Pennsylvania (she lived up there for a while, but has since moved back down here) she wanted me to help her cook and clean, while she sent Brian upstairs to play Playstation. Needless to say, I was miffed, and gave Brian the "you-leave-me-now-and-you'll-pay-for-it-the-rest-of-your-life" look, and he stayed and helped. Her nine-year-old daughter is just as bad a she is, only she brings up even more inappropriate things like Brian's ex-girlfriends and says how she misses them and how we're sisters and she wants to be the flower girl at our wedding. Which would probably happen anyway, but considering neither of us has ever mentioned the possibility of marriage to her, I don't think is right for her to be talking about it. Anyway, the entire family smokes like a house made up entirely of chimneys (and I can't stand cigarette smoke, even from one person) and the rest of the family is actually just like Brian's mother, being rude and crass just for kicks. Whenever they talk to me, I never know how to react. So I just try to be as friendly as possible (as there is a strong possibility they will soon be my in-laws) and keep my mouth shut. Of course, then they want to know what's wrong with me, why I don't join the conversation. Like I said, I don't know what to say or how to react to what they say.

But, like everyone else always says, I digress. I was not looking forward to the outing, but since my mother is in Orlando and I otherwise would be home alone yet again, I decided to go, but wondered if I made the right choice. And sitting in this hot house (of course today there's no rain or wind so even the open windows don't help), I am actually looking forward to any way of getting out. Even if it means spending the evening with future in-laws.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com