10.07.2003, 10:49 a.m.

goodbye grandma


Grandma passed away yesterday morning at 6:30. I think I haven't totally accepted it yet, because I can't think about it being my grandma � the woman I grew up with, who went to Perkins with us just a few weeks ago, who seemed to be getting better just one week ago � who died yesterday morning. That was the woman lying in bed on Sunday night, who couldn't talk or see, who looked like any other old woman lying in a hospital bed. That woman was not my grandmother. I knew when I saw her Sunday night that she would not live another day. Just lying there with her mouth open and no life in her eyes. It was exactly how Satin looked the morning before she died. It was hard enough to have to see Satin dead, I knew I couldn't look at my grandma being dead, so I went home Sunday night and waited for my mom to call to tell me she was gone. I always knew she and Satin would go around the same time. They were so parallel, both living to be very old, both got a little bitter and a little spoiled in their old age. Both were very important to me. My grandma helped my mom raise me. She was around more than my father was. She watched me when I stayed home sick and after school. I used to make her give me a kiss on each cheek before she went home, and she always laughed about that. She was in a lot of pain in the last few years. She just had surgery on her eyes so she could see better. They were going to do a hip replacement so she could walk and not have so much pain. That was a week ago. A few days after they decided not to do it, they decided to send her home for hospice. She was home for one day. I'm glad she got to go home, though, because she didn't want to be in the hospital anymore. I guess she's better off now, she won't be in pain anymore.

My grandma, born December 20, 1914. Died October 6, 2003. She was 88 years old. She is survived by 7 children, 16 grandchildren, 12 great-grandchildren, and one great-great-grandchild. She is indeed a legacy. She will be greatly missed.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com