11.10.2002, 9:21 p.m.

at least I have a boyfriend (even if I don't have any other friends)


Another weekend of being lazy when not being busy grading papers. At least no essays this weekend. I really feel like such a loser. Seriously, Brian tried to set me up with a friend tonight. How pathetic does that make me? I can't get my own friends so my boyfriend has to get me some. Not that I wanted him to. The girl is his friend's girlfriend. Who is about 18 and not exactly my type, so even if she could have made it (which I have to wonder about her excuse of why she couldn't hang out -- she had to get permission from her dad who was asleep and he's not nice when you wake him up so she didn't want to try) I doubt it would have worked out very well.

The problem is I don't make friends easily. I'm quiet and reserved when I'm around people I don't know, and I don't hang around anywhere long enough to get to know people and make friends. I figure by the time I make friends at the school I'm at right now, I'll be ready to move (to Orlando) or transfer, either to a high school or kindergarten, which I decided I now want to teach, since I visited my mother's school on Friday (I called in sick -- because I felt like it, that's why). Those kids are so cute, and I always wanted to teach little kids up until about 2 years ago. So my next goal is to get certified to teach kindergarten. Anyway, I'm always changing direction (as you can see) so I don't really get settled in anywhere.

So anyway, speaking of getting settled in, Amy wanted some details about Brian's hints about getting engaged. I don't know. I know he hasn't bought a ring yet, because I know how much money he has (he keeps some in the bank and most in a hand puppet in the drawer). He's always been a procrastinator, though (like most other men). But he knows I want him to ask me; I've given him hints, and surprisingly he's gotten them. And the other day I was joking about what he's getting me for my birthday and said he would buy me a 50 cent necklace out of a bubble-gum machine, and at the same time I was saying necklace he was saying ring (meaning one from a machine). And he's made other references to a ring, only I can't think of any specific times right now. And he has said a few times recently how being married wouldn't change our lives much since we already live together (I think he's been trying to convince himself of that for a while). And he knows it would be beneficial to him in terms of insurance, since his job doesn't offer any, and I can get a family plan with mine. Oh yes, and yesterday he said that he expects that we'll be having kids within the next 2 or 2 1/2 years or so, and I said something about how we'd have to get married first and he said we'll probably be getting married in about a year or a year and a half. I imagine he knows that you're "supposed" to get engaged about a year before you get married.

I'm not ready to get married right now, but I sure as heck am ready to get engaged.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com