02.20.2003, 3:47 p.m.

a good day to be a teacher


I feel much better today. Some of my classes were even likable. I had a lady from the New Educator Support System (NESS) in observing me today during my advanced class, and they were so on the ball and well-behaved today. And the kid I was going to kill yesterday didn't bother me at all today. I got an excellent review from the observer (I know, because I peeked). And although my 4th period was talkative and I had to give out two detentions and a few more writing assignments today, they were also much better. That class has now become the hardest to get through, because as hard as I fight to teach them, they fight just as hard to not be taught. They are my dumbest and most immature group, even though they aren't even the lowest kids. But even they were better. They just drain every last ounce of energy out of me, because I have to be down their backs nonstop for the whole hour. In my other classes I usually have at least a few minutes of downtime somewhere in the hour. And my fifth period I have to be teaching the whole hour because they can't handle individual work. So most of the time we do whole-class discussions. It's very draining. But like I said, today was one of those "maybe I'll continue being a teacher; maybe I do have the hang of this after all" days.

And I have to say thanks to booby and dana-elayne for the lovely notes of support. Word up man. (I've always wondered what exactly that means)

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com