08.05.2002, 7:37 p.m.

officially a teacher; am I insane?!


I got a job for next year! I will be teaching 8th grade Language Arts at my old middle school. God, I hate middle-schoolers, but it's a job, and I'll be making $38,000 a year (before taxes and including benefits) instead of the $20,000 I've made the past two years combined. I'm so excited. The teachers start August 20 and the first day of school is August 26. I'm trying to sign up for the "New Teachers Academy" which is all next week, where they teach new teachers how to survive the first few weeks of school. And they pay $15 per hour so that's not too shabby either. I don't need the time off, I need help! I guess they teach you the stuff they should teach you in college, where in actuality, they teach you absolutely nothing that will ever help you when you start teaching. Oh well, college sucks, what can I say?

Children suck too, actually. Today was a horrible day at camp. The children were wretched. None of them listened, and they all thought the rules went out the window. I had to call parents and send home two of them for fighting. And I mean fighting. One boy had the other by the neck and was literally pounding the crap out of the kid's head. The one being beat on was no better, though. He had just knocked the first boy down into the bleachers (we were at the pool). They're both kids who have no control over themselves and are normally bad, so I had no problem sending them home.

Later in the day, a shorty came over and said there were some boys outside peeing on the tree. I was totally flabbergasted. So I had to talk to four more parents in the afternoon. Three of them were very upset and the last one just kind of smiled and said to her son "That's something we save for our backyard." Then she said it was the least of her worries. I could not believe it. Her son just committed a crime (people have gone to jail for peeing in public) and on school property! and she didn't care. I thought it was interesting when she went off on him a few minutes later because he couldn't find his lunchbox.

It's okay if you whip out your willy in the middle of summer camp and pee on a tree on school property; but if you waste my time looking for your lunchbox I'll kill you!

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com