02.12.2003, 4:43 p.m.

90 degrees of stupidity


This weather is going to kill me. Monday afternoon it was a scorching 90 degrees, and that wasn't even the high that day. By the time I got home, the back of my shirt was dripping with sweat. Yesterday's temps were in the mid 70s, and this morning it was 59 degrees on the way to work. But Monday really killed me. Here it is, the middle of winter, with some states that can barely make it to above the freezing point, and we here in South Florida are dying from the heat. Just crazy. And my body is desperately trying to get sick, and I'm desperately fighting it. I don't have the time or patience to get sick right now.

Abruptly changing the subject, I am perpetually surprised (although you'd think I'd learn by now) at how little my kids know. I swear, I really wonder what the heck they've been doing for the past eight years. They don't know things that even my mom's kindergarteners know. A few days ago, I had a very difficult time finding anyone who knew what similies and metaphors are. Only some kids from the advanced class and one or two in the other classes knew. I expect that from my ESOL kids (non-English speaking kids), but give me a break! Most of my kids have spoken English and been in America for at least a good part, if not all, of their 13 or 14 years. Today, not one kid in any class (except the advanced, they were doing something else today) knew what a stanza was in poetry. And they weren't very well-behaved today, it was an Early Release Day, so they were set off. Of course, any little break in the routine sets them off. Hopefully they'll be better tomorrow. We'll see�

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com