02.19.2006, 8:39 a.m.

rodeo day


So it was a three-day weekend for me, as I'm sure it was for most people (except those who work at a theme park, hah!), but my weekend ends today (Sunday)... let me tell you why. The Friday before President's Day is Rodeo Day, at least in my podunk little town it is. There is a rodeo about ten minutes down the road, and all kinds of things go on there besides just the rodeo (Pearl Jam and Norah Jones played there last year... separately). But like I said, Rodeo Day was this past Friday. And the schools in my county get Rodeo Day off instead of President's Day. Now before anyone goes off thinking, this girl's a freakin redneck, it's not me. I live in a town full of rednecks, but I'm not one. Not that there's anything wrong with them... I wouldn't live in this town if I had a problem with them... that's just not me.

The ironic thing of it all is that this backward little town is only 30 minutes from Walt Disney World. Animal Kingdom is acutally in the same county as me (the other three parks are in Orange County). But think about it... before Walt came down here, the whole Orlando area was nothing more than rednecks and orange groves, so naturally many of those small towns bordering the theme park areas (and now the University of Central Florida area) are unchanged. A little more traffic flows through, but for the most part, the outlying areas of Orlando are still... well... well, we are off on RODEO Day instead of PRESIDENT's Day, for goodness sakes!

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com