09.02.2002, 11:51 a.m.

grading papers and crying over commercials


First of all, let me apologize for my lack of daily updating. I hope everyone understands the reasons which include, but are not limited to:

� grading papers
� planning for the next day
� grading papers
� doing stupid (oops I meant required) paperwork such as writing a class syllabus and making emergency lesson plans
� grading papers
� reading books on how to teach writing to students
� grading papers
� researching and finding resources to use in my classes
� grading papers
� trying to figure out how to teach children how to speak English (even the ones who have lived in America and spoken English all their lives)
� and of course, trying to have a life (you thought I was going to say grading papers, didn't you?)

I live, eat, sleep, and breathe school (school meaning work). I spent this whole 3-day weekend grading papers and doing all the rest of the things listed above. Except having a life. That's not an option; I don't have time for it. Although, I did watch Lord of the Rings and The Rocky Horror Picture Show (ah! I love that movie). And I went to Barnes and Noble (love that store) and spent $30. On books for school. I drove past the university yesterday, and for the first time thought about how I'm not in school. I mean, I'm still in school since I teach, but I'm not taking classes this fall. For the first time ever. Although I'm doing just as much work now as I would be doing if I actually was taking classes.

I think I'm getting a little over-emotional lately. I had to choke back a lump in my throat and fight the tears after watching a commercial yesterday. Yes, a commercial. And I don't even have PMS. It was one I'd never seen before, by Kodak, about a group of volunteers building a house for a family that couldn't afford one (Habitat for Humanity, or something like that). In the end, the family comes in the house and see a frame with a bunch of pictures of the volunteers building the house and they're all happy and whatever.

Okay, sentimental time is over. And I need to get back to� well, grading papers.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com