08.10.2002, 8:55 p.m.

Don't Read This


Now I'm sick. Figures. I knew it was coming, though, for two reasons. One, I always get sick after a really stressful time in my life. It's like my body holds out for the time it needs to in order for me to get through the rough time, but as soon as I get a break it just gives in. The other reason I knew I was getting sick was because I was just so tired and cranky last week and my voice was almost gone. For a while I thought I was just yelling at the kids too much and was losing my voice from that, but when my nose started getting stuffy I knew I was done for. My sinuses are killing me. I just keep popping sinus pills; I know when the four hours are up and it's time to take more because suddenly I can't breathe at all.

I hope I'm better by Monday, I'm going to the "New Teacher Academy" all next week, which teaches new teachers how to survive the first few weeks. Things like classroom management and such. I went to Barnes & Noble today and spent almost $50. I got 6 new Young Adult novels and a book called 101 Ways to Make Your Classroom Special. I'm almost done with one of the novels, called Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey by Margaret Peterson Haddix. It's a girl's journal entries for her 10th grade English class and the teacher told them anything too personal that they don't want her to read they can write "Don't read this" and she won't. So of course, this girl writes that at the top of every entry. It's a pretty good book. And short, too.

I want to make the kids in my classes write in journals, and I was thinking maybe I could integrate it with the internet and make them use Diaryland. Like write an entry at least twice a week. I don't know, maybe it would be too difficult. For me, I mean, because the libraries (at school and the public ones) allow kids to use the internet so if they don't have it at home, they can still get to a computer. And twice a week is not that much. And Diaryland is free. Maybe I'll think more about it before I make a decision. Right now, though, I'm off to bed. I have to get well.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com