07.16.2002, 9:46 p.m.

crazy dads, restraining orders, and poopie pants


Big excitement at camp today. A few weeks ago a mother got a restraining order against the father and told us if he ever showed up at camp to call her and the police. Well, today he showed up. He didn't come in right away, he was outside for a long time arguing with someone on his cell phone and when we figured out who he was we took the girl and hid her in the back while the assistant supervisor tried to call the mother.

When he finally came in and said he was there to pick up his daughter, I explained that we were told not to let her go with him. He got really huffy and said he got a court order this morning and he could pick her up and we would "get the police involved if we had to," so I said we needed to see the court order before we would let her go with him. So he stormed out to his car to get it and because of the way he was acting, I told the a.s. to call the police (the mother told us to anyway) especially since she couldn't get hold of the mother.

After he got the paper he was arguing on the phone again, then he brought the paper to me to read. It said he got visitation from 4:00-5:30pm Monday through Friday, and since it was 11:00am I was still not going to let him take her. Then he gave me his phone to talk to the mother (which I doubted at first that it would really be her, but I recognized her voice) and she said it was okay, that they did go to court this morning and got the restraining order lifted, and she was glad that we handled it the way we did, blah blah blah. So he came in and went in the back to get her and was like "Why is she back here all by herself?" real nasty but didn't listen for an answer. He took her and left, but when he got out to the parking lot a police officer had arrived. He took the paper and the guy's license and I guess was checking everything out, then he took my name since I was in charge, and I asked if he needed us anymore and he said no.

He had the guy out there for a while afterward, and I was glad because he was totally wreaking havoc for us. He picked the worst possible time to pull that crap. All of the kids in the camp were in the cafeteria at the time because they had just come back from a field trip. (They spend most of the day in small groups in classrooms). The whole time he was there all the counselors were dealing with either the girl or her father, so the rest of the kids were going completely ape-shit because no one was watching them.

It's never dull at camp, I have to say that. We're never bored, there's never a time to sit around and twiddle our thumbs. We never wish there was something to do, because there's always something. After that, the rest of the day went surprisingly smooth. Oh yeah, except for another little girl who pooped her pants on the playground in the afternoon. Don't ask. She said she didn't know she had to go until it was too late. Needless to say, we called her mother to come pick her up.

Like I said, it's never dull�

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com