10.05.2002, 6:39 p.m.

this is not such a brave new world


Another weekend of grading papers. I've actually got most of the papers graded already, but I collected a few classes' writing journals, so those need to be graded before Monday so they can continue with their entries. I can't believe the various amounts of writing the kids do in their journals. Some write more than enough each time, some write one sentence when I tell them they should have 1-2 paragraphs. I got my nails done this morning. I got a French manicure again, I like it because it looks nice with anything I wear. I mean, if I got them painted red and wore a pink outfit it would look silly. Not that I would ever wear a pink outfit anyway, but you get the point.

I'm almost done with Harry Potter. The second book. I love it. I loved the first one, I don't know why it took me so long to get to the second one. Oh wait, yes I do, I was still taking Literature classes and was busy reading five other books at the same time, so I didn't have time for leisure-reading. Then summer camp started, and now school (work) has started, and unbelievably, this is the first time in so long that I have had time to read. It's strange how I feel so busy, yet I have more time to do things for myself. I guess it's because I am managing my "me" time better now. Except now I don't have time to get online as much. I guess you have to give a little here, take a little there. Whatever.

Last week was crappy at work. We rearranged kids so that the one big class is now smaller, with some of the behavior problems now in other classes. Now my dreaded third period class is close to being considered my favorite. Fourth period, which now has two of the kids taken out of third, is close to being my least favorite. They just thought they could do whatever they wanted the past few days. And fifth period is full of a bunch of kids who will probably drop out the minute they turn 16, and they may as well. I feel bad saying that, but honestly, some of them are not going to be helped. They already don't care, they don't want to learn, and I'm sure their parents don't care if they go to school or not anyway, so why should they? By 13, it's almost too late to save them. There should be restrictions on who is allowed to be a parent. Brave New World and The Giver sound more and more like ideal worlds as I get older and begin to see how corrupt the real world really is. Breed children in bottles and raise them in groups by trained, professional "parents." Not these idiots who breed because they don't know how to use protection. Then raise their kids to be posessions they can use to show off how "cool" they are. You know, I read somewhere that if given a choice of whether their children could be smart or popular, most parents would choose popular. That's sick. I want my chilren to be smart. I want them to go somewhere in life. Popular kids do not normally make it very far in life. It's the intelligent nerds who are the most successful.

Whatever, I'm depressing myself. And I've got a date with Harry Potter�

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com