2001-06-16, 11:48 p.m.

brave new world


I'm reading 'Brave New World' by Aldous Huxley. By choice, not because I have to for school. I've heard it sucks from two people, but they're both only about 15. Someone told me I should read it after a conversation we had about the government controlling reproduction. I personally think they should keep *trash* from breeding, but that's another story. Brian says we all have our place in the world. Anyways, I kind of like the book so far. Gives you a new perspective on life.

When you're reading a book, especially a classic, why do people always assume that you have to read it for school? Don't people read books for enjoyment? Because they LIKE to read??

When someone tells me they hate reading, I automatically assume either they can't read, or they're lazy. Why else would someone not like to read? I also assume they're stupid, because reading broadens your vocabulary, your knowledge, even your creativity. It helps you spell better and use better grammar. Basically, if you read a lot, you come across as a much more intellectual person. And you are.

And I don't know anyone who wouldn't like to at least seem more intellectual. Well, anyone over the age of 18.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com