01.23.2004, 5:54 p.m.

nothing ever goes right!!!!!


My stomach hurts. I don't know if my engagement ring is my mother's diamond or not. Good lord, it's a long story. Here goes.

Brian decided to use the diamond from my mother's engagement ring to reset into yellow gold (hers had been white gold). He took it to Kay Jewelers, thinking a big company would have less problems. Wrong. When he took it in, the girl showed him that it had a small scratch on the top. No big deal, you could only see it under the microscope. She notated it on the sales slip. When the ring came back finished (on Christmas Eve, and he proposed Christmas Day), it was white gold. He took it anyway, so he could still propose on Christmas. Two days ago, we took the ring back to get it reset into yellow gold and found out that it had a chip in it. No scratch. Scratches in diamonds don't disappear. And chips aren't that easy to put in diamonds. The jeweler, by general rule, will not work on a chipped diamond (meaning they can't even reset it). The manager was not there that day, so the girl said they would call us. Today we went back (no one called) to talk to the manager. We explained the story, he put it under the microscope and we looked again. Still no scratch on the top, but Brian found two more smaller chips. If I chipped the diamond, then fine, it's my fault, but what if I didn't? What if it's not the original diamond? If it is, where did the scratch go? And what are the odds that my mother had it for 30 years and only put a tiny scratch in it, and I've had it less than a month and put three chips in it? They keep saying maybe the girl didn't wash it before she looked at it, and that's why she saw a scratch, but it's the company's policy to wash it, so she probably did. Conveniently, the girl is only a seasonal employee and doesn't work there anymore, so no one can ask her. The manager is being really nice about it, and trying to do anything he can, but what can he do to fix it? He asked us what we would like for him to do, and we said we didn't know. What can he do? What I want him to do is prove to me beyond the shadow of a doubt that it is my mother's diamond. I don't see a way for him to do that. Then, if it is my diamond, I want him to prove that I was the one who chipped it. Another thing he cannot do. So the question now is, what can he or we do to put a big enough band-aid on it, to make us happy in the end? No one can prove anything, so they won't be held responsible. So I'm guessing at best they can refund our money for the band. What about the diamond with chips in it? What if I didn't put them there, and it's their fault it's practically worthless now? I'm not going to get over that there's a possibility that it's not my mother's diamond. What if I wanted to pass that down generations? I'm not passing down a chipped diamond that might have been my mother's. So what do I want? I want a brand new ring, but I want to keep this one, because it's the one he proposed with. Where are we going to get a new one? We can't afford one, and they're not going to give us one. The manager talked to the jeweler and they will reset it... this was all caused by them setting it in white gold in the first place. I would never have known it was chipped if it had originally been in yellow gold. We wouldn't have gone back there, and none of this would have happened. So, in effect, it is their fault, is it not? Should I get a lawyer? Do I have a case? probably not, since no one can prove anything. What are they going to do for us? Give us a $200 credit for the price we paid for the band? There's still that question of whether it is truly the original diamond or not. Nothing but proof can make me totally satisfied. And there's no hope for that.

last - next


I can't believe - 11.22.2006
life sucks - 11.19.2006
alone and unhappy - 11.14.2006
please don't let it end - 10.15.2006
nothing to wear - 08.28.2006

100 Books Club

The WeatherPixie Come on, vote for me!

Today I feelThe current mood of jen9802@yahoo.com at www.imood.com Everyone else feelsThe current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com